J. Cole – The Off-Season (Album)

J. Cole has today released his long awaited sixth solo album, The Off-Season. It follows his Applying Pressure documentary which gave us an insight into what to expect from the album.

This is the first J. Cole album to include featured artists since his 2013 effort, Born Sinner. It includes features from Lil Baby, 21 Savage, 6LACK, Cam’ron, Morray and Diddy. Since none of them are listed on the official track list they are all surprises but the biggest surprise was Diddy. Who features on “l e t . g o . m y . h a n d” where Cole recounts the pair fighting.

The Off-Season has the feel and sound of a mixtape and the artwork continues the basketball theme of his mixtape series. He even referred to his his 2009 mixtape, The Warm Up in the album’s documentary. Saying that he utilised the same work ethic for this album, to push himself as an artist and to reach new heights musically.

He is certainly a musician at the top of his craft, as shown on his recent LA Leakers Freestyle. Like his other albums, Cole produced the bulk of the songs. Other producers that worked on the album include Timbaland, Boi-1da, Jake One and T-Minus. The album includes “The Climb Back” which Cole released last summer on his Lewis Street EP. It also includes “i n t e r l u d e” which he released last week. The Off-Season is out now on Apple Music and Spotify, you can listen to it in full below.

Previously: J. Cole – Applying Pressure: The Off-Season (Documentary)